The schools of the Nelson Diocese are situated in the beautiful Okanagan and Kootenay regions in the province of British Columbia, Canada.  At present, there are six elementary schools and one high school.  Cranbrook, Nelson, Trail, Penticton, Kelowna and West Kelowna each host an elementary school.  The grade 8-12 regional high school is located in Kelowna.

The Catholic school in each community works with the local Catholic parishes to support families seeking a faith-based education in the Roman Catholic tradition.  The school accepts Catholic families first and foremost.  Non-Catholic families seeking a faith-based education are also welcome.  Students participate in daily prayer, retreats, monthly school masses, reconciliation services and sacramental preparation.

Each of the schools follows the BC Ministry of Education curriculum.  In addition to the required areas of study set by the Ministry, all students are required to take religion.  Every attempt is made to integrate Catholic teaching and values into all areas of the curriculum, not just religion.

All teachers employed by the diocese are BC certified teachers as required by Ministry of Education regulations.  The teachers are committed to providing a strong education within a Roman Catholic tradition.

The schools are funded through a variety of avenues.  We receive 50% of the per student grant that the public system receives each year for daily operations.  No money for capital is received from the Ministry of Education.  Additional funds to operate our schools come from: parish subsidies, donations, fundraising events and tuitions.

The schools of the diocese are affiliated with the Catholic Independent Schools of BC (CISBC) and all schools under CISBC are Committed to Bully Free Schools.

And Jesus said, "Let the children come to me..."

(Matthew 19:14)